Horse racing at Garthorpe

Champions lead British team for the Anglo-Irish International PTP Riders’ Challenge

News, Press Releases by Nico

Great Britain are out to defend their crown in the fourth running of Anglo-Irish International Point-to-Point Challenge.

Reigning champions Will Biddick and Gina Andrews head the British teams, which will take on their Irish rivals at Inch Point-to-Point, held near Tallow in County Cork, during the Easter holidays on March 23rd. Four men and four women from each country will go head to head in a series of races during the day.

The teams were selected based on their positions in last season’s championships owing to the early staging of this year’s renewal.  Joining Will Biddick on the GB men’s team will be John Mathias, Darren Edwards and Nick Orpwood. The GB women’s team, supported by AGA, is unchanged from last year’s winning quartet: Gina Andrews, Hannah Watson, Claire Hart and Catherine Walton.

Britain has won the Anglo-Irish challenge each year since its inception, beating Ireland by 21 points to 17 when the event was held last May at Chaddesley Corbett in Worcestershire.

Britain’s team details

  • Will Biddick – 30, is chasing his fifth consecutive men’s championship and is currently leading the way
  • John Mathias – 24, runner-up in last season’s championship, former national novice title-holder and multiple Welsh champion
  • Darren Edwards – 31, currently second in this season’s national championship and the reigning champion in Devon & Cornwall
  • Nick Orpwood – 27, Northern champion
  • Gina Andrews – 23, double national women’s champion
  • Hannah Watson – 29, runner-up in last season’s women’s championship
  • Claire Hart – 32, currently leading the 2015/16 national women’s title race and reigning South Midlands champion
  • Catherine Walton – 28, Northern area champion

All horses will be rated – the highest-rated to be partnered by the riders who head their national championships on the day. This will be repeated in descending order for the remaining participants.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.