Subaru Restricted Series 2017

The Subaru Restricted Series 2017

News, Press Releases by Nico

Subaru are the home of Symmetrical All-Wheel-Drive (AWD) and ‘Boxer’ flat-four engines designed for both leisure and performance driving.

Over the last 50 years, Subaru has earned a reputation for engineering excellence. They have strived to capture the very essence of what a vehicle should be. Their ingenuity has won the loyalty of drivers who are confident in their choice of Subaru because the brand provides enjoyment and peace of mind – two inseparable values that are central to the Subaru experience. Visit: to explore the range.


Subaru are proud to once again be a national sponsor of Point-to-Point. Subaru have committed to a third season of the Subaru Restricted Series, supporting Point-to-Pointing with 30 qualifiers around the country. This season the series once again boasts a prize fund of £10,000.

Kicking off the Point-to-Point season, the first meeting of the Subaru series will take place at Cottenham on 27th November 2016. The series will culminate with a Grand Final over 2m 7f at Stratford Hunter’s Chase meeting on 9th June 2017.

Last season Our Chief, ridden by Martin McIntyre, owned by the White, Phippen and Finn Partnership and trained by Teresa Clark, won the Subaru Restricted Series.


In addition to the Restricted Series, Subaru will again support the Subaru Restricted Championship, now in its second season. The winner of the Subaru Restricted Championship will be announced at the end of season final at Stratford. The winning owner will receive the use of a Subaru Forester for one year. (

Once a horse has been placed (1st, 2nd or 3rd) in a Subaru Restricted qualifier, they begin accumulating points towards the Championship. Points will be awarded depending on the type of race run. Points will be awarded for races run prior to qualification.

Points will be awarded as follows:

Maiden Race 1st – 4 2nd – 2 3rd – 1
Restricted Race 1st – 5 2nd – 3 3rd – 1
Intermediate Race 1st – 6 2nd – 4 3rd – 1
Any other Point-to-Point Race 1st – 6 2nd – 4 3rd – 1
Open 1st – 7 2nd – 5 3rd – 2
Hunter Chase 1st – 10 2nd – 6 3rd – 4

Last season, the Subaru Restricted Championship was won by owner Steve Young, when his horse Northgeorge came third in the Subaru Restricted Series final, pushing him to the top of the Subaru Championship leaderboard. He received the use of a Subaru Forester for one year; he kindly donated his prize to the winning jockey Byron Moorcroft.

“He has ridden so well this season. The Jockey is getting the car. This horse means everything to me, he’s the first I’ve owned and this is my first season being involved with Point-to-Pointing. I love it.”.

Follow the story:
point-to-point” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer”>
twitter @SubaruUKP2P
facebook SubaruUKP2P
instagram SubaruUKP2P
Join the conversation #SubaruUKP2P

Subaru Restricted Series Qualifying races 2016/17

Area Meeting Course Date Dealer
EA Cambridge University United Hunts Club Cottenham November 27, 2016 Cambridge Subaru
EA Dunston Harriers Ampton January 15, 2017 Subaru UK
SAND Vine & Craven Barbury Racecourse February 12, 2017 Simpsons of Swindon
EA North Norfolk Harriers Higham February 19, 2017 Proveeda
W Countryside Alliance Club (Wessex) Badbury Rings February 26, 2017 Dorset Sports, Wimborne
EA Suffolk Ampton March 12, 2017 EMG, Bury St Edmunds
Y Hurworth Hutton Rudby March 18, 2017 Stokesley Motors
D&C Dart Vale & Haldon Harriers Buckfastleigh March 19, 2017 Ashburton Motor Works Ltd
SE Old Surrey, Burstow & West Kent Penshurst March 26, 2017 Culverwell Cars, Robertsbridge
SM Heythrop Cocklebarrow April 2, 2017 John Wilkins
EA Essex High Easter April 8, 2017 Perkins, Bishop’s Stortford
WM Andoversford Races (The Cotswold) Andoversford April 9, 2017 John Wilkins
NW Cheshire Forest Tabley April 9, 2017 Subaru UK
D&C Spooners & West Dartmoor Cherrybrook April 9, 2017 Specialist Vehicles Subaru, Plymouth
SE Ashford Valley Tickham Charing April 15, 2017 Maidstone Subaru
SM Kimblewick Kimble April 15, 2017 Bulldog, Twyford
NW North Staffordshire Sandon April 15, 2017 Pinkstones
MID Woodland Pytchley Dingley April 15, 2017 Unity Leicester
W Taunton Vale Kingston St Mary April 17, 2017 Central Motors, Chard
D&C Dartmoor Foxhounds Flete Park April 22, 2017 Specialist Vehicles Subaru, Plymouth
WW Tivyside Lydstep April 23, 2017 Greens, Haverfordwest
SE Chiddingfold Leconfield & Cowdray Parham April 29, 2017 Monza Sports Tuning/ Proven Motors Supporting
N Fife Balcormo Mains April 29, 2017 Fife – Walkers
Y Pendle Forest & Craven Heslaker April 29, 2017 Dales Subaru / KT Green
D&C Modbury Harriers Flete Park May 6, 2017 Specialist Vehicles Subaru, Plymouth
MID Fernie Dingley May 7, 2017 Unity Leicester
SWM Tredegar Farmers Lower Machen May 7, 2017 Nathaniel Cars
N Cumberland Aspatria May 13, 2017 Stan Palmer
SE Surrey Union Peper Harow May 13, 2017 Proven Motor Co, Haslemere
Y South Durham Hunt Farmers Club Sedgefield May 28, 2017 Croxdale Subaru

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.