Midlands Area Awards Dinner Dance 2017

Will Crowther, Greg Purcell, Fergus Gregory, India Gowling, Joanna Hewitt, Tom McClorey

By Nicky Hewitt

Owners, Jockeys and Trainers celebrate their successes at The Midlands Awards Dinner Dance.

102 guests turned up at Shearsby Bath Hotel on Saturday September 23rd 2017 to join in the celebrations at the 27th running of the Midlands Area Point-to-Point Association's Awards.

This Award presentation has been very kindly sponsored and attended by Mr Mark and Mrs Pat Barthorpe for an amazing 24 consecutive years. Sadly this time though Mark was unable to attend as he was unwell but pleased to say he is now out of hospital and is recovering well.

Master of Ceremonies Nick Pomfret kept everyone very well entertained throughout the evening and also helped to raise £270 for the Injured Jockeys Fund.

Winning presentations  were accompanied by videos kindly put together by David Jones who, ably supported by his wife Barbara, has kindly supplied the photographs with this report.

Some of the Trophies are on their second plinth now so that we can keep adding on the latest annual winners. Reading the names on them really does bring back some pretty special memories of both horses and jockeys, Particularly those who managed to win them two or three years running.

midlands pointing awards tom strawson

Point-to-Point awards 2017 - Tom Strawson" width="800" height="601"> Leading Rider Tom Strawson and Pat Barthorpe

John Chatfeild Roberts and Pat Barthorpe

Pat Barthorpe presenting Leading Horse Trophy to owner Mr John Chatfeild-Roberts who also won the Leading Family Trophy with Warden Hill.

Sophie Walker and Pat Barthorpe

Leading Lady Rider Sophie Walker and Pat Barthorpe. Sophie was also 2nd in the Leading Novice Rider category

Joanna Hewitt and Philip Armson

First season Riders Joanna Hewitt and Philip Armson, both 17, who both managed to ride a winner this season. Joanna was third in the Leading Lady Rider award.

Will Crowther, Greg Purcell, Fergus Gregory, India Gowling, Joanna Hewitt, Tom McClorey

L-R: Will Crowther, Greg Purcell, Fergus Gregory, India Gowling, Joanna Hewitt and last season's Leading Rider Tom McClorey






Recent Posts

14th February 2024
Cottesmore point-to-point breaks new ground for 2024

The Cottesmore Point-to-point is making a few changes for this season’s event, which takes place at Garthorpe Racecourse in Leicestershire on Sunday 25th February. The Mixed Open race, fourth on the card, will have a £1000 first prize on offer, kindly sponsored by chartered accountants Saffery. There will be no penalties for previous wins, a […]

14th February 2024
Notes on Schooling Races/SchoolingTrials

Garthorpe has just run a couple of very successful schooling races/trials at the end of the race day, and more may appear at future fixtures in the area.  The Point-to-Point Authority treats Schooling Trials according to PPAGI 1- Race Framing Appendices 6 and 7.  In effect they are like Charity races/Hunt scurries, which need clearance […]

12th February 2024
Brocklesby Point-to-Point 2024 - Report

Over an inch of rain fell during the two days prior to the meeting turning the ground to “soft, heavy in places,” whilst stamina was to the fore and all race times were close to 7 minutes, the track rode very well. The weather was mild for February and dry on the day leading to a large crowd enjoying the competitive racing. With Revesby […]

6th February 2024
Brocklesby Point-to-Point 2024 - Preview

The Brocklesby Point to Point races take place at Brocklesby Park on Saturday by kind permission of the Earl and Countess of Yarborough. 86 entries have been taken for the 7-race card starting at 12 noon. Entrance is £15 per person with under 16’s free, payment by cash or card. At the beginning of the […]

6th February 2024
Fier Jaguen reigns supreme at Melton Hunt Club

The annual Melton Hunt Club fixture at Garthorpe included one of the highest class Mens Open fields in recent years, won in dominant form by Cheltenham hunter chase winner Fier Jaguen and Bradley Gibbs. In doing so they registered the 9th win from their last twelve starts and set up a double on the day […]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram