Champions lead British team for the Anglo-Irish International PTP Riders’ Challenge

Horse racing at Garthorpe

Great Britain are out to defend their crown in the fourth running of Anglo-Irish International Point-to-Point Challenge.

Reigning champions Will Biddick and Gina Andrews head the British teams, which will take on their Irish rivals at Inch Point-to-Point, held near Tallow in County Cork, during the Easter holidays on March 23rd. Four men and four women from each country will go head to head in a series of races during the day.

The teams were selected based on their positions in last season’s championships owing to the early staging of this year’s renewal.  Joining Will Biddick on the GB men’s team will be John Mathias, Darren Edwards and Nick Orpwood. The GB women’s team, supported by AGA, is unchanged from last year’s winning quartet: Gina Andrews, Hannah Watson, Claire Hart and Catherine Walton.

Britain has won the Anglo-Irish challenge each year since its inception, beating Ireland by 21 points to 17 when the event was held last May at Chaddesley Corbett in Worcestershire.

Britain’s team details

  • Will Biddick – 30, is chasing his fifth consecutive men’s championship and is currently leading the way
  • John Mathias – 24, runner-up in last season’s championship, former national novice title-holder and multiple Welsh champion
  • Darren Edwards – 31, currently second in this season’s national championship and the reigning champion in Devon & Cornwall
  • Nick Orpwood – 27, Northern champion
  • Gina Andrews – 23, double national women’s champion
  • Hannah Watson – 29, runner-up in last season’s women’s championship
  • Claire Hart – 32, currently leading the 2015/16 national women’s title race and reigning South Midlands champion
  • Catherine Walton – 28, Northern area champion

All horses will be rated – the highest-rated to be partnered by the riders who head their national championships on the day. This will be repeated in descending order for the remaining participants.

Recent Posts

14th February 2024
Cottesmore point-to-point breaks new ground for 2024

The Cottesmore Point-to-point is making a few changes for this season’s event, which takes place at Garthorpe Racecourse in Leicestershire on Sunday 25th February. The Mixed Open race, fourth on the card, will have a £1000 first prize on offer, kindly sponsored by chartered accountants Saffery. There will be no penalties for previous wins, a […]

14th February 2024
Notes on Schooling Races/SchoolingTrials

Garthorpe has just run a couple of very successful schooling races/trials at the end of the race day, and more may appear at future fixtures in the area.  The Point-to-Point Authority treats Schooling Trials according to PPAGI 1- Race Framing Appendices 6 and 7.  In effect they are like Charity races/Hunt scurries, which need clearance […]

12th February 2024
Brocklesby Point-to-Point 2024 - Report

Over an inch of rain fell during the two days prior to the meeting turning the ground to “soft, heavy in places,” whilst stamina was to the fore and all race times were close to 7 minutes, the track rode very well. The weather was mild for February and dry on the day leading to a large crowd enjoying the competitive racing. With Revesby […]

6th February 2024
Brocklesby Point-to-Point 2024 - Preview

The Brocklesby Point to Point races take place at Brocklesby Park on Saturday by kind permission of the Earl and Countess of Yarborough. 86 entries have been taken for the 7-race card starting at 12 noon. Entrance is £15 per person with under 16’s free, payment by cash or card. At the beginning of the […]

6th February 2024
Fier Jaguen reigns supreme at Melton Hunt Club

The annual Melton Hunt Club fixture at Garthorpe included one of the highest class Mens Open fields in recent years, won in dominant form by Cheltenham hunter chase winner Fier Jaguen and Bradley Gibbs. In doing so they registered the 9th win from their last twelve starts and set up a double on the day […]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram