The Subaru Restricted Series 2017

Subaru Restricted Series 2017

Subaru are the home of Symmetrical All-Wheel-Drive (AWD) and 'Boxer' flat-four engines designed for both leisure and performance driving.

Over the last 50 years, Subaru has earned a reputation for engineering excellence. They have strived to capture the very essence of what a vehicle should be. Their ingenuity has won the loyalty of drivers who are confident in their choice of Subaru because the brand provides enjoyment and peace of mind – two inseparable values that are central to the Subaru experience. Visit: to explore the range.


Subaru are proud to once again be a national sponsor of Point-to-Point. Subaru have committed to a third season of the Subaru Restricted Series, supporting Point-to-Pointing with 30 qualifiers around the country. This season the series once again boasts a prize fund of £10,000.

Kicking off the Point-to-Point season, the first meeting of the Subaru series will take place at Cottenham on 27th November 2016. The series will culminate with a Grand Final over 2m 7f at Stratford Hunter's Chase meeting on 9th June 2017.

Last season Our Chief, ridden by Martin McIntyre, owned by the White, Phippen and Finn Partnership and trained by Teresa Clark, won the Subaru Restricted Series.


In addition to the Restricted Series, Subaru will again support the Subaru Restricted Championship, now in its second season. The winner of the Subaru Restricted Championship will be announced at the end of season final at Stratford. The winning owner will receive the use of a Subaru Forester for one year. (

Once a horse has been placed (1st, 2nd or 3rd) in a Subaru Restricted qualifier, they begin accumulating points towards the Championship. Points will be awarded depending on the type of race run. Points will be awarded for races run prior to qualification.

Points will be awarded as follows:

Maiden Race1st - 42nd – 23rd – 1
Restricted Race1st - 52nd – 33rd – 1
Intermediate Race1st - 62nd – 43rd – 1
Any other Point-to-Point Race1st - 62nd – 43rd – 1
Open1st - 72nd – 53rd – 2
Hunter Chase1st - 102nd – 63rd – 4

Last season, the Subaru Restricted Championship was won by owner Steve Young, when his horse Northgeorge came third in the Subaru Restricted Series final, pushing him to the top of the Subaru Championship leaderboard. He received the use of a Subaru Forester for one year; he kindly donated his prize to the winning jockey Byron Moorcroft.

"He has ridden so well this season. The Jockey is getting the car. This horse means everything to me, he's the first I've owned and this is my first season being involved with Point-to-Pointing. I love it.".

Follow the story:
point-to-point" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer">
twitter @SubaruUKP2P
facebook SubaruUKP2P
instagram SubaruUKP2P
Join the conversation #SubaruUKP2P

Subaru Restricted Series Qualifying races 2016/17

EACambridge University United Hunts ClubCottenhamNovember 27, 2016Cambridge Subaru
EADunston HarriersAmptonJanuary 15, 2017Subaru UK
SANDVine & CravenBarbury RacecourseFebruary 12, 2017Simpsons of Swindon
EANorth Norfolk HarriersHighamFebruary 19, 2017Proveeda
WCountryside Alliance Club (Wessex)Badbury RingsFebruary 26, 2017Dorset Sports, Wimborne
EASuffolkAmptonMarch 12, 2017EMG, Bury St Edmunds
YHurworthHutton RudbyMarch 18, 2017Stokesley Motors
D&CDart Vale & Haldon HarriersBuckfastleighMarch 19, 2017Ashburton Motor Works Ltd
SEOld Surrey, Burstow & West KentPenshurstMarch 26, 2017Culverwell Cars, Robertsbridge
SMHeythropCocklebarrowApril 2, 2017John Wilkins
EAEssexHigh EasterApril 8, 2017Perkins, Bishop's Stortford
WMAndoversford Races (The Cotswold)AndoversfordApril 9, 2017John Wilkins
NWCheshire ForestTableyApril 9, 2017Subaru UK
D&CSpooners & West DartmoorCherrybrookApril 9, 2017Specialist Vehicles Subaru, Plymouth
SEAshford Valley TickhamCharingApril 15, 2017Maidstone Subaru
SMKimblewickKimbleApril 15, 2017Bulldog, Twyford
NWNorth StaffordshireSandonApril 15, 2017Pinkstones
MIDWoodland PytchleyDingleyApril 15, 2017Unity Leicester
WTaunton ValeKingston St MaryApril 17, 2017Central Motors, Chard
D&CDartmoor FoxhoundsFlete ParkApril 22, 2017Specialist Vehicles Subaru, Plymouth
WWTivysideLydstepApril 23, 2017Greens, Haverfordwest
SEChiddingfold Leconfield & CowdrayParhamApril 29, 2017Monza Sports Tuning/ Proven Motors Supporting
NFifeBalcormo MainsApril 29, 2017Fife - Walkers
YPendle Forest & CravenHeslakerApril 29, 2017Dales Subaru / KT Green
D&CModbury HarriersFlete ParkMay 6, 2017Specialist Vehicles Subaru, Plymouth
MIDFernieDingleyMay 7, 2017Unity Leicester
SWMTredegar FarmersLower MachenMay 7, 2017Nathaniel Cars
NCumberlandAspatriaMay 13, 2017Stan Palmer
SESurrey UnionPeper HarowMay 13, 2017Proven Motor Co, Haslemere
YSouth Durham Hunt Farmers ClubSedgefieldMay 28, 2017Croxdale Subaru

Recent Posts

14th February 2024
Cottesmore point-to-point breaks new ground for 2024

The Cottesmore Point-to-point is making a few changes for this season’s event, which takes place at Garthorpe Racecourse in Leicestershire on Sunday 25th February. The Mixed Open race, fourth on the card, will have a £1000 first prize on offer, kindly sponsored by chartered accountants Saffery. There will be no penalties for previous wins, a […]

14th February 2024
Notes on Schooling Races/SchoolingTrials

Garthorpe has just run a couple of very successful schooling races/trials at the end of the race day, and more may appear at future fixtures in the area.  The Point-to-Point Authority treats Schooling Trials according to PPAGI 1- Race Framing Appendices 6 and 7.  In effect they are like Charity races/Hunt scurries, which need clearance […]

12th February 2024
Brocklesby Point-to-Point 2024 - Report

Over an inch of rain fell during the two days prior to the meeting turning the ground to “soft, heavy in places,” whilst stamina was to the fore and all race times were close to 7 minutes, the track rode very well. The weather was mild for February and dry on the day leading to a large crowd enjoying the competitive racing. With Revesby […]

6th February 2024
Brocklesby Point-to-Point 2024 - Preview

The Brocklesby Point to Point races take place at Brocklesby Park on Saturday by kind permission of the Earl and Countess of Yarborough. 86 entries have been taken for the 7-race card starting at 12 noon. Entrance is £15 per person with under 16’s free, payment by cash or card. At the beginning of the […]

6th February 2024
Fier Jaguen reigns supreme at Melton Hunt Club

The annual Melton Hunt Club fixture at Garthorpe included one of the highest class Mens Open fields in recent years, won in dominant form by Cheltenham hunter chase winner Fier Jaguen and Bradley Gibbs. In doing so they registered the 9th win from their last twelve starts and set up a double on the day […]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram